2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

P0753 Shift Solenoid A Electrical

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2011, 10:33 PM
newtech
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default P0753 Shift Solenoid A Electrical

My '02 Dakota,4x2,3.9 auto, has this code. I'm not sure if the symptom is "limp-in mode" or not. If I want it to go into 1st gear, I have to manually do it. It takes off in 2nd or 3rd. I'm an experienced mechanic, just not well versed in later Dodges.
I bought this truck a few years back, when it had 101k. Now it has 118k and this problem started last week. Since I first owned it, the trans has been overfilled 4" above full. It's always shifted okay till now. I don't feel that changing the filter and adding the proper amount of fluid is going to make everything okay. I'd like to hear from someone who may have experience with this issue. I like this truck, I would really like it to shift correctly. I don't have access to recommended procedures (it would be nice).

Old 09-08-2011, 04:50 PM
alt-fuel
Amateur

I had the same thing happen at 70K I replaced the shift solenoids. The dealer had them in stock at the time. The pan has to be dropped and the filter. Probably a couple hundred for parts unless the autoparts places sells them. I now have 124K. If I had to do it again I would take it to the shop flush fluid and filter and have them put them in couple of screws and wire plugs.

Old 12-03-2011, 09:32 PM
OneSicSRT