2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

Newbie here with brake problems!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2005, 03:28 PM
sgtcassidy78
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie here with brake problems!!!

Hi everyone. I own a 1997 Dodge Dakota SLT with the 5.2 V8. I am having some spongy brakes as of lately. Checked it over and the pads and rotors are in good shape. Bled the brake lines, but to no avail. If I am cruising over 30mph and slam on the brakes it slowly comes to a stop. Can't get the brakes to lock up completely. Does anyone have advice on what I should be looking at that might be causing this? Your help would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Old 07-22-2005, 11:50 PM
dodgeman4x4
Rookie
Default RE: Newbie here with brake problems!!!

does your peddle go to the floor? I am not sure what u mean by "spongy". Also what technique did you use to bleed them. Please be thorough. All i can think is air is still in the lines, just being stubborn and not getting out or (and i'm not sure if the booster is vacume assisted) your not getting vaccume or enough of it to the booster.

Old 07-24-2005, 04:32 PM
snowman81

Sounds like loss of pressure (which I am sure you already knew) but that can come from a number of different things. Slow leak in a line, possibly one of the pistions (unlikely) or the master cyclinder. I know that is basically the whole system but I think that there is a way that you can have that tested. I would say start looking at the master cylinder first...to me it seems like that is where the problem would be coming from. Hope that helps some and let me know how you make out.

Old 07-25-2005, 02:57 PM
sgtcassidy78