2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

Dakota newb with a couple questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2012, 10:25 AM
rwilhelms
Veteran
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Dakota newb with a couple questions

So I'm new to Dakotas I've owned 3 rams so far and finally decided I need to get some better gas mileage. So I'm wondering what kind of gas mileage people get with the different options. Auto/manual v6/v8 5.2l/4.7l. I'm also wondering what motor is more reliable? I know all about the plenum problems from the v8's in the rams and I would guess that the v6 has the same problem seeing as how its a magnum motor? I've also heard bad things about the oil pumps on the 4.7s. I think the combination that I would love to have the most would be a 97-99 4x4 5.2l manual but I'm guessing it'll be hard to find locally and not get much better gas mileage than the rams. Any insight on these subjects will be a great help in my vehicle search.

Old 01-12-2012, 10:40 AM
bpark8824
Champion

The 4.7 with a 5 speed is your best bet for reliability and gas mileage. With 4wd and an extended cab I was averaging 17.5 - 18.5 all summer, but that number drops quite a bit in the winter.

Automatics have problems (which I'm sure you know from owning other Dodge trucks) and the 5.2/5.9s suck gas and are less reliable than the 4.7. The 3.9 is a dog and gets about the same gas mileage as the v8's so it's not worth it (trust me I've been there). I don't have any experience with the 3.7 v6 but if it's basically the same as the 4.7 it might get the best gas mileage of all the motors but will have less power.

Btw I love the ram in your sig.

Old 01-12-2012, 11:45 AM
misfitdakota_95
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts