2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

New guy/ New truck!

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2012, 10:09 PM
dleonard1122
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New guy/ New truck!

Hey everyone. Name's Dylan, and I'm new to hear and new to owning a Dodge. Tomorrow I'm going to the dealership to pick up my first truck (owned a 4-door sedan before this ) and am really excited for it.

For reference, the truck I'm purchasing can be seen on the dealers website here:
http://www.vwofsalemcounty.com/Vehic...-NJ/1697955353

Was hoping someone could just look it over for me real quick and make sure there's nothing standing out that makes it a "bad buy." I did the kbb value for it and it looks like a real good purchase for the price.

Also, since I've had all day to sit and be giddy about getting this, I'm already thinking of what I want to do to it. I'm not trying to get ahead of myself but I already plan on putting a K&N air filter into it to improve mpg a little, and I like the way this truck looks in other pictures with running boards. I was hoping someone could refer me a good set of running boards to match the truck.

That's all for now, but I'm sure Ill have more questions as time goes on.

Old 03-07-2012, 02:21 PM
bpark8824
Champion
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Looks like a nice truck will low miles. The 4.7 is a very dependable more and I think it's an overall good truck.

A K&N filter won't show noticeable gas mileage gains and certainly not enough to pay back the cost of the filter but if you want you can still put one in. You can just get the drop in filter or the entire air intake but they aren't cheap. Replacing the entire intake will make it sound a little better though. So do what you would like, just don't get your hopes about the gas. Whatever car you used to have should have certainly done better.

Nice truck though and welcome to the forum.

Old 03-07-2012, 03:51 PM
dleonard1122