2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

whistle/squeal

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2013, 09:09 PM
Shanker30
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default whistle/squeal

I have a whistle coming from (it seems) the right front of my truck, only through a certain throttle range. It sounds like bad brakes, but it never comes on when i am hitting the brakes and there is no brake drag to a certain side so lets rule that out.

I almost want to think it's intake whistle, because its only through a specific range of acceleration (if i push the gas pedal down about 2 inches and hold it there is the only time, any more and it's gone, any less and it's gone)

If I drive around with OD off, it makes the noise less, i feel because in OD the RPMs are lower, than when in 3rd at certain speeds. but I'm no mechanic so I could be wrong about that being the fix/problem.

Has anyone else had an issue like this? what was it and how did you solve it?

I'm lost, and its been there since I got the truck

Old 07-31-2013, 09:31 PM
98DAKAZ
Champion
Received 32 Likes on 30 Posts

I do know that many 4.7 engines get this but usually in a Ram truck its the IAC Is what I have seen.

Have you put on an aftermarket air intake if so that could be it also the stock air intake is made to keep things quiet removing it gives you a hissing sound

Old 07-31-2013, 09:50 PM
dodgeramguy85
Grand Champion
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Does it make the noise while revving it in N?

Old 08-01-2013, 02:13 AM
Shanker30
Amateur

No it does not make the noise when revving in neutral.

Old 08-01-2013, 03:17 AM
Blacknights
Veteran
Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts