2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

Grinding noise on startup when its cold

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2014, 11:13 PM
eagle7
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Grinding noise on startup when its cold

2002 4.7L 5 speed 4x4 120,000 miles Mobil1 oil and filter. Sometimes when it is very cold (15F or less), i hear a terrible grinding noise on startup. Grinding or rattling, hard to tell, but its pretty loud. The noise only lasts about half a second, the engine seems to run pretty good but milage is low about 14.5 mpg.

Sounds like noise is coming from the top of the engine. Maybe the lifters? Should i be worried? I am not a mechanic, so I would love some advice. You guys are amazing on this forum, I read it quite often just for fun.

I heard the noise first a couple years ago. Last year wasnt very cold in PA so it didnt happen at all. But now we have cold temps again and I heard the noise again. For now I will try to avoid driving my truck on these crzy cold days. Thanks for any help.

Old 01-06-2014, 12:26 AM
Blacknights
Veteran
Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts

Oh stop the flattery ☺️, you're too kind.

I can try to help, but I'm an amateur and these guys helped train me in a sense. How well do you get your oil levels? Perfect? Because to be honest, the only thing I can think of is what retired my original engine 4k miles ago. But it shouldn't have happened to such a low mileage engine. I'd ask for a sound or video clip to help give me a definite answer.

Last edited by Blacknights; 01-06-2014 at 12:31 AM.
Old 01-06-2014, 12:33 AM
magnethead
Legend
Received 169 Likes on 154 Posts

how long does it take for oil pressure to build after start? The needle should jump up within a second. Any correspondence to the sound? Check the starter, it may have come loose when everything contracted from the cold, or may have come loose period. Or it may be hanging up on the flywheel.