2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

it's the remote starters fault

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2016, 03:10 PM
JOEC3082
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default it's the remote starters fault

I have little to no experience with vehicles. None with Dakotas

My buddy made me an offer i couldn't refuse and i needed a project so i gladly accepted. It's a 97 dodge dakota. But i was told it had the engine from a 98 r/t, the 5.9L. It was running when i got it. Not great but running. It also came with an after market remote starter that i was told was disabled. You could see it hanging under driver side dash.

I had previously joined a diff fourm seeking help but i forget which forum it was. Every time i opened the door to get in, the headlights would flash, security light on the instrument panel would flash and it wouldnt start. I learned i had tripped the factory security system which in turn cuts out the fuel pump. So i was told to turn the key to the lock position in the door twice quickly and then to the left quickly to disarm security. That didnt work.*

So for some odd ball reason i decided to uninstall the remote starter. Which i just finished doing. That's all i did. I just removed it. I didn't reconnect any wires or anything cause i didn't know if i was supposed to.

Then i thought id try the key trick in passenger door and of course it worked lol. Imagine that.*

So i have the factory securtiy system disabled and i tried to fire it up and wont even turn over. When i turn the key to the first position the dashboard lights up but when i go to start, nothing at all happens. So im thinking i screwed up the wiring when i unhooked the remote start.

Ive been searching for a wiring diagram but no luck. Does anyone know where one is available? Better yet does anyone know the procedure to installing/uninstalling a remote start?.