2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

4.7 Random Long-term Misfire Mystery

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2016, 05:42 PM
Cudavanti
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default 4.7 Random Long-term Misfire Mystery

Hi guys!

I'm hoping you can help me solve a long-term misfire mystery with my 2003 Dakota 4.7 V8 AWD?

A bit of background on my truck and me. I'm British, living in France, my truck is a Canadian one, imported first to Belgium, then to France. It's been converted to dual-fuel petrol/LPG with an Italian "Stargas" system. (this is important regarding my misfire in that it both complicates and clarifies things).

So, for quite a while now my truck has been showing the amber check engine light. It's perfectly driveable, I use it everyday as I am renovating houses for a living but it does misfire. It seems most likely to happen either if I do a lot of short stop-start journeys, or if I cruise around a city for a while at lowish speeds, then accelerate onto a main road.

I try to run on LPG most of the time as it's much cheaper, but as is usual with LPG, a misfire is much more severe when running on that fuel. When it gets bad I switch back to petrol/(gas?). The misfire can still be felt as it's slightly stuttery to drive (but not massively so as when it's happening on LPG).

The fact it happens on both fuels makes me think the LPG system is not the issue. The engine does throw out a lot of OBD codes (which i'll note down this weekend and post here). They mostly indicated lean fuel mix and/or a leak in the charcoal filter system. I and several mechanics have checked all the lines going to and from the charcoal filter, no leaks are evident. If I block the exhaust pipe the engine dies, so an air leak seems unlikely.