2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

Some sort of problem.....I think!

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2006, 05:09 AM
jpuder
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Some sort of problem.....I think!

I'll try to explain this as best I can. I'm not a mechanic, and this problem is not real consistent.

Basically, it goes like this. Since sometime in February, for no reason, while driving down the road, the engine seems to surge. As in, the RPMs climb 200-500 for a brief second, then drop back off. I drive my truck back and forth to work mostly. The trip consists of a 5-7 mile distance at 35 to 40 mph to the interstate, then another 10 miles at 65-70 mph, then reverse at the end of the day to go back home.

It usually does it after cruising at a steady speed for a few minutes, usually going down the interstate with tach reading 2000-2300 RPMs. Does it a at slower speeds too, but never when the tach was below 2000 RPMs or below 40 mph. It can happen two or three days in a row, then not happen again for a week. It can surge three or four times in a row, or just once. It can do it with the engine still cold, or after driven for a while. I have never been able to duplicate it, I drive the same route 5 days a week and I have never able to make it happen.

There has never been a code, or check engine light. I’ve had it to two different shops. Neither one could duplicate it, or come up with anything wrong at all.

It does it both with cruise control on and off. Does it when the outside temp is cold, it does it when it is hot. It has never surged more than 500 RPMs, and always drops right back off.

I’ve got a 2001 Quad cab SLT with the 4.7, with approximately 85,000 miles. No modifications to the truck, other than a Flowmaster dual exhaust installed in 2002. I regularly change my oil, change the air filter twice a year, and give it some injector cleaner now and then.