2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

New to Dakotas but not Dodge.

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2006, 03:14 PM
Thansen
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Dakotas but not Dodge.

Hi, Dodge Forum newbie here.

I going to embark on a 2nd gen Dakota as a replacement vehicle and have my basic questions. First off, is it possible to get a 4 cylinder QC or ext. cab? If not stock, can I put a 4 banger in? And second just out of curiosity, how much does it weigh? QC and Ext. Cab. I'm trying to drop in a Turbo 4 cylinder from the first gen truck into the 2nd, but don't know how compatible they are. I know they are both 2.5 liter engines, and that they both sit on a RWD platform, but that's it. Anyway, thanks for the help, and if anyone has questions about Turbo Dodges, I know a little bit so you can PM me. See ya'll around.

Old 08-26-2006, 01:28 AM
Daksport1pa
Banned
Default RE: New to Dakotas but not Dodge.

Welcome to the site. I don't believe Dodge ever offered a 4 cyl in the 2nd gen Dakotas. Only 6s and 8s. As far as transplanting a 4 cyl in I do not know. I"m sure anything can be done. I just don't know if it would really have enough power to move a QC considering some of the guys who have V6s in their QCs complain about them being underpowered. With a turbo though it may be much better. Someone may have a lil more knowledge in this area and be able to help you more.

Old 08-26-2006, 01:52 AM
Thansen

ORIGINAL: Daksport1pa

I don't believe Dodge ever offered a 4 cyl in the 2nd gen Dakotas.
The Dakota 2nd gen had an AMC 4 cylinder in their base models from 1997-02' coupled to a 5 spd manual, but that's all I know. I know they have a 4 cylinder 2nd gen, but I don't know much more. Anyway Dakota buffs, help!!

Old 08-26-2006, 02:06 AM
Daksport1pa
Banned

ORIGINAL: Thansen

ORIGINAL: Daksport1pa

I don't believe Dodge ever offered a 4 cyl in the 2nd gen Dakotas.