2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

gas mileage

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2006, 08:25 PM
midnight.dakota1
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default gas mileage

how many km per full tank of gas i am not positive but i think i have the 66 litre tank but don't hold me to it i have the 3.9 l engine single cab with just front seats no rear and dual exhaust. lowered if that makes a different i have a fairly heavy foot but not too heavy i get probably around 300 km to the tank and thats ridiculous

Old 10-11-2006, 09:52 PM
Chris
Record Breaker
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: gas mileage

i am not very good with the conversions off of the top of my head, but it doesnt sounds very good. when was the last time you did a full tune-up? are you running a stock style air filter? what type of exhaust do you have? unfortunately, the 3.9 liter gets pretty sloppy gas milage as it is. the motor is very underpowered for the weight of the vehicle, in turn producing lousy gas milage.

Old 10-11-2006, 10:35 PM
dodgerules86
Champion
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Hes getting appx. 10.9 MPG
(Conversion is as follows: 1liter=~0.26gal, 1km=~0.62mile)

As virused said, if you haven't done a tune-up in a while, it would probably be a good idea to get one done.
Of course, the type of driving you do will have a big impact on mileage. If you do mainly city driving, with a semi-lead foot, your gas mileage is gonna suck. (I do 90% city driving, with a some-times lead foot, and average 12MPG; ranges from 11-13MPG)
The quality of fuel can have an effect. If you always by the cut-rate fuel because "its 2 cents a gallon cheaper," that could be a contributing factor. My grandparents have experimented, and spending the extra 2 cents a gallon is worth it.