2nd Gen Neon 2000 - 2005 2nd Gen Neon

Transmission or maybe Electrical issue

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2012 | 12:10 AM
nualex21
|
Exclamation Transmission or maybe Electrical issue

Ok so I'm new to the Neon scene. My 02, 2.0 SOHC was given to me by a friend when I was down on my luck. The problem is that it was in a front end accident, and sat for about 2-3 years, so now I'm playing catch up on all the maintenance and repairs.

My current problem has me stumped. Last night I was driving home and turned on my high beams, a little later I had a high rev, the gauges danced, the fog lamp indicator cam on, the wiper blades wouldn't shut off even thought they weren't on and the car went into "limp mode" but would jump to second if you turn the high beams on or off. That's what had me thinking it was an electrical issue.

I pulled these codes from the tcm P0124,p0884,p0077,p0218 and just the battery disconnect from the pcm.

Today I spliced a few wires that looked banged up, even cleaned the connector for the Transmission Control Solenoid. I know the transmission fluid and filter needs to be cleaned. I'm doing that Friday. It may need a new battery. It sat for a while and a cell maybe bad. I'm testing that tomorrow. All the grounds seem to be intact. I'm going to check the transmission input/output and the throttle positioning sensors tomorrow and have that information for any one later in the day. For now the problem is intermittent, no fog lamp indicator, sometimes it shifts on its own, the wipers come on and off every 10-30 seconds and the speedometer is the only thing dancing.

I don't want to sink a ton into this car because its just meant to get me back on my feet while I save up for something of my own, so I'm looking for some solid leads before I start buying high dollar parts.

Old 05-24-2012 | 01:29 AM
fhadso
Veteran