2nd Gen Neon 2000 - 2005 2nd Gen Neon

I am so confused...

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2013, 03:58 PM
overture
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I am so confused...

I have a dodge sx 2.0, and I have a fairly well rounded knowledge about how cars work, but I'm no mechanic. And about 8 months ago my engine started rocking back and forth when ever I would even just lightly step on the accelerator especially when stopped. Or accelerating while already moving at a constant speed, and when ever the brakes or applied. The engine will rock so much that the exhaust actually hits the bottom of the car really hard and you hear a clunking noise. I can do this at a stand still with the brakes applied as well.

I've had all the motor mounts replaced twice now... once by me and once by the dealership. And the problem still continues. So I'm not exactly sure what is wrong and can't really locate where the problem is coming from.

---------------

I also have another issue that my other SX does not have, but the same one does it idles really roughly, not so much in neutral as in drive. But it shakes hard I've replaced and gapped the spark plugs, coil pack, cleaned fuel injectors, replaced belts, replaced air filter, cleaned throttle body.
I've also read about a lot of other people with neons having this problem, I'm not really too concerned I just find this one a bit odd.

Only error code I also get is for the battery sensor, which is missing.

Any help to either of these problems would be greatly appreciated.

Old 06-13-2013, 02:41 AM
darthroush
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

All motor mounts...how many are there? Just asking as people usually miss one. Just double-checking, if you will.

If it shakes badly, it's one of three possible things (or all): either the torque struts aren't aligned, the motor mount wasn't installed back in the exact same factory-specific location or the motor mount is still bad as it wasn't actually replaced.