2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Starting to do my own work on my junk...

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2008, 06:03 AM
tothewall
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Starting to do my own work on my junk...

Here is my window story...

When I bought the Dodge I had a window that did not work. The driver's side window had a bad regulator in it and would not come back up when put down...

So, I got the lads to order me a window cranking system from a junkyard and got it in today.

I apologize that there are no pix, as I am new to this fixing my own junk and turning my own wrenches.

In any case, today I learned that the 10mm bolts that hold the window mechanism in are a PITA to find when they fall to the driveway. Also, I learned that just because there are 6 bolts there that look the same, it does not automatically mean that one needs to remove them all. I was stuck for quite a while as I was unable to get the window to line up in the track by the back of the door. I was unable to line it up as the track in the front was moving freely because the bolts holding it had been removed by a moron just scant moments earlier in the whole evolution.

When I put the bolts for the forward track back it allowed the window to ride up between the two tracks and made it much easier to control.