2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

help (i'm new)

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2008, 09:15 PM
mstephen89
Captain
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help (i'm new)

hey everyone, i am new to this so go easy on me. First of all I would like to introduce you to my truck. Bought it in June with about 65,000 miles on it. First let me tell you about her. 3in front 2 in rear lift(July). 36x10.50 Power King Premium Traction Tires(September)I know noone has heard of these, but they will go anywhere a swamper will).New halogens headlights and lenses off ebay(november, great buy only 100 bucks). Dual Exhaust, flowmaster 40(earlier today). that is the exterior. Inside 1 Jl audio sub stealth box, Pioneer premier head unit, mb quarts signature components, and (2) usacoustics amplifiers. Also I swear by amsoil. Everything has been changed. Long list of stuff to do, headache rack with 4 kc dayliters(next). 4.56 gears, Winch bumper, and mile marker hydraulic winch. shift kit, rear bumper, tranny cooler, programmer, intake, rocker arms, spray in bed liner, toolbox. But I have a very limited budget, so i would say within another year or two, and i should be done.
Now for the questions, I get about 12-13 mpg on the highway with out a/c. I have 36 inch tires, and 3.55 gears. Is this good? I would like to maximize my mpg as gas is over 3 bucks?
I am thinking that I have a tranny problem, but not sure. When driving at 60mph(speedo sais 50). With the slightest hill, the tranny downshifts. I know that it is supposed to do this but the hill doesn't have to be very big at all. My dad a certified mechanic, sais that he thinks the gears need to be lower? But when I changed over to ams oil, I found a piece of a snap ring in pan?
Please help

Old 02-06-2008, 09:16 PM
mstephen89
Captain