2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

DIY mods

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2008, 04:39 PM
levikx184
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DIY mods

Ok, I'm a noob here so please don't get mad if this is an old post.I was wondering what are some good modifications you can do to a 5.9 to get more horsepower out of it. I have a '98 ram with the 5.9L in it and was wondering what could I do to get more horsepower out of the engine (all thison a budget). I'm looking at air intakes but was wondering what all you could do to the engine without buying any mods. Thanks!

Old 03-18-2008, 05:06 PM
turkeyhunter1962
All Star
Default RE: DIY mods

Most of the mods for horsepower are going to cost you some money. Now that being said, do a search here in the forum on the "Death Flash" and read about it. It is probable that your truck has been reflashed with this at the dealership. If so, continue searching here for info on the Crankshaft Positio nSensor (CPS) mod. This mod only takes time and a good file and can reset your timing back to where it was before the flash was installed.

The best source of power is always keeping the engine tuned and then improving both the intake and exhaust in conjunction with each other. If you put a cold air intake on, then your next improvement should be in the exhaust.

Also, DO NOT purchase the so called "Throttle Body Spacer" for your truck. It absolutely has no effect on our vehicles. I take that back, your truck may go faster because your wallet is lighter and that's it. Do another search here in the forum to read all about them.