2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Harbor Frieght Ball Joint Press

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2008, 12:38 AM
hometheaterman
Champion
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Harbor Frieght Ball Joint Press

Is the Harbor Frieght ball joint press any good? I usually in most cases don't like cheaping out on tools but this is one of those things I don't want to spend $250-450 for something I will use once or twice a year if that. I thought about just renting it but I'd kind of like to own one anyway. I just want something that will actually work and be safe to use.

If I buy it will I need any other things? I want to attempt to do the ball joints on my Chevy Caprice and I've never done ball joints before.

Old 03-30-2008, 12:45 AM
pcfixerpro
Champion
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Harbor Frieght Ball Joint Press

If you have an autozone by you.... check over there. They often let you borrow tools and you leave some money. Pick it back up when you return it. I mean seriously... you really dont need to have a set in your garage unless you want something to collect dust. W/e floats your boat tho..

Old 03-30-2008, 12:59 AM
hometheaterman
Champion

Idk why I really want to buy it. I just figure I have enough cars I will probably eventually do more than one. I have pretty much most tools I can think of and this is one of the few I don't have so I was thinking I minus well add it to my collection if the $30 one is any good. I don't want to pay $250 or $450 for the ones from sears but I wouldn't mind paying what the Harbor Frieght one costs.

Old 03-30-2008, 01:18 AM
pcfixerpro
Champion