2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Transmission problems. Tried a search already

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2008, 11:02 PM
jagxtype
Professional
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Transmission problems. Tried a search already

Sorry for the copy and paste double post. i am a newb and thought it went in general tech, but it seems it belongs in here. Please excuse me fora little while.

Truck Info:
96 Dodge ram 2wd 1500
5.2L V8 engine
133,000 miles-trans already rebuilt once by aamco and is out of warranty and not sure of miles when rebuilt

So, the truck will not move and when shifted out of park (R,N,D,2,1 it does it in all these) it sounds like a hydrostatic lawnmower or weak power steering pump. It does this and it varies directly with engine speed. It seems like it really wants to move (and does a little once in a while), but at the same time the engine free revs. Front pump problem? Torque converter problem? Electric solenoid problem?
Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance

Old 04-07-2008, 02:40 AM
rabbler
Record Breaker
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Transmission problems. Tried a search already

How is the fluid level and condition?
You did check it, right?

Old 04-07-2008, 12:37 PM
MonteC
Record Breaker

Either you have no fluid in the transmission or your torque converter is shot.

Sorry to say its time for a rebuild. You made a mistake by taking it to aamco.

Old 04-07-2008, 05:12 PM
jagxtype
Professional

Thanks for the responses.

Rabbler, The trans fluid was just changed and an aftermarket cooler and the check valve was removed. The fluid looked within reason, but since i do not have the truck yet, i havnt dropped the pan yet.