2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

1997 DODGERAM1500--rear outer seals LEAKING??

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2008, 11:49 PM
rockman23
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1997 DODGERAM1500--rear outer seals LEAKING??

Hi, newbie here....hope you all are good.

I've had my 1997dodgeRAM4X4 since NEW---I went to get REAR brakes done & there was a little GREASE(oil) on the rear brake shoes(drum)BOTH sides----the shop said the REAR SEALS were leaking & wanted xtra $500.00 to take vBOTH axles out & replace SEALS.....

About 8 years ago I somehow got WATER in the REAR AXLE & the DIFFERENTIAL was leaking fluid as a result of THINNING the GearOIL,
the dealership drained ALL fluid & refilled & replaced gasket(differentialCover)----

I think that when the rear gear oil was dilluted w/water, it not only leaked out the center diff., but ALSO leaked a little out BOTH rear outer seals & eventually got on the brakes shoes & THAT's how the oil got on my brakes...NOT because the outer seals are bad??
I mentioned this scenerio to the mechanic(today) & he didn't even acknowledge my story & told me it was the outer seals & wanted to replace them...He ALSO said this was common w/DODGE RAMS & chevy's(rearOuter seal leakage)--

I also think that if it was BAD SEALS, there would be gearOil on the GROUND under truck, NO?

WHAT is your OPINION, are these OUTER SEAL LEAKS common?

Oh, I got 130,000 miles on truck & have BABIED it since birth, NEVER off road, BUT have seen SNOW & ICE it's WHOLE LIFE.

I'm thinkin it wont leak anymore so the mech. replaced shoes & called it a day & cleaned off old oil(it was OLD oil). So I guess I'll wait & see if it still leaks, like I said, it NEVER even got to the ground?

Whay do ya think??

THANKYOU, in advance...

Old 11-12-2008, 03:24 AM
rockman23