2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

why adjust transmission bands?

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2009, 04:17 PM
oops-sorry
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default why adjust transmission bands?

what is the purpose of adjusting the bands? can you adjust the front and not adjust the rear? or do you need to do them both at the same time? im new to dodge rams, but im familiar with the engines. i just got rid of my jeep grand cherokee that had the 318 engine in it if i remember right, the jeep guys kept saying the same thing about adjusting the bands.

the reason im asking is because my transmission shifts fine, but it is really smooth and quick to shift. i tried adjusting the tv cable and that didnt help at all. i know in the jeep i had the transmission was a 46rh also and it shifted really firm.

by the way im working on a 1994 ram 4x4 with a 360 engine. thanks for the input

Old 03-31-2009, 07:14 PM
zman17
Retired Moderator - RIP
Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

You adjust them because they get worn. You don't have to do both, btw.

Old 03-31-2009, 07:18 PM
oops-sorry

when they get worn, what do they do? smooth shifts, slipping, or something else? what is the difference between adjusting the front and the rear?

Old 03-31-2009, 08:41 PM
PurplDodge
Legend
Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

Wait a week. I will have a DIY on both.

Old 03-31-2009, 08:45 PM
oops-sorry

thanks, ill be looking forward to it

Old 03-31-2009, 08:46 PM
PurplDodge
Legend
Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

So will I.

Old 05-30-2009, 11:19 AM
SEAL
Champion
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Oops-sorry
Smooth shifts are what an automatic is supposed to do but doesn't always achieve. To quote an old mechanic friend of mine: If it ain't broke don't fix it.