2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

2001 Ram 1500 5.9

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2009, 07:24 PM
darek_s
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 Ram 1500 5.9

Hello all. I am a newbie to the forum and hope that someone could help me with an issue. It is regarding my dad's 01 Ram 1500 5.9 automatic. Its got around 60k on it and started acting up recently.

When cruising in high gear at appox 40 mph or so when he gives it some accelerator the truck acts bogged down almost like its a stick shift going to slow in high gear and needs to be downshifted. If he punches it and it downshifts or slows down enough to downshift on its own its fine. It only acts up under these circumstances and otherwise runs perfectly.

He has changed plugs, wires and distributor cap. Had the transmission checked and its fine.

Its driving him nuts-any help you can offer I would greatly appreciate.

Thank you very much.

Old 05-20-2009, 07:33 PM
jasonw
Site Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 22 Likes on 11 Posts

Welcome to the forums.

How long has your dad had the truck?

That sounds normal, O/D is a dog in these trucks, designed for MPGs. Take O/D off, and you won't have that issue. (Button on end of shift lever.)

Many here (myself included) don't engage O/D unless we're going over 45 or so. Probably help your tranny live longer too.

Last edited by jasonw; 05-20-2009 at 07:36 PM.
Old 05-20-2009, 08:01 PM
dhvaughan
Hall Of Fame
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

+1 turn OD off.

if its still a slug, replace the throttle position sensor (TPS), drivers side of throttle boy, about $40-45 at any parts store. it might help. if it doesn't help, keep the old one as a spare part. TPS is one of those things that fail and its nice to have a known good part to swap.

Old 05-21-2009, 07:20 AM
darek_s