help - no spark, no injector pulse, no run - DodgeForum.com

Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Reload this Page > help - no spark, no injector pulse, no run
Notices
2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

help - no spark, no injector pulse, no run

Reply

 
 
  #1  
Old 10-30-2009, 03:27 PM
deogey
deogey is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Question help - no spark, no injector pulse, no run

I'm working on a 2001 Ram 2500 5.9 Gas; when it was delivered to me it ran but needed an intake gasket....
let is sit for a while and now it won't start, no injector pulse, no spark... verified the computer was good (swapped it into a different truck) moved on to the cam position sensor.
put a new cam position sensor in and it fired right up; while i was picking up tools (approx. 2 mins running) it stumbled and stalled

checked the cam position sensor and i didn't seem to be getting signal from it, got another one, installed it and it still won't start and doesn't seem to be giving me any signal pulse. Assuming I got a good part i'm thinking my test wasn't good.

Should i try yet a third CPS or start looking elsewhere? all fuses are good and i have 5V at the sensor supply.

HELP!
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2009, 03:39 PM
95RAM360's Avatar
95RAM360
95RAM360 is offline
Grand Champion
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: MAINE
Posts: 5,581
Default

test the fuel pump...and when you say it wont start...does it crank?
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2009, 03:53 PM
zman17's Avatar
zman17
zman17 is offline
Retired Moderator - RIP
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 18,729
Default

Swap the ASD relay with another similar one in the PDC. If that does nothing, I'd say the Crank Pos. Sensor is next on the list.

As a side note, you say you replaced the intake gasket, are you talking about the lower one too? If you didn't replace the plate itself with one from Hughes Engines for instance, expect the stock gasket to blow out again.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-31-2009, 07:14 PM
deogey
deogey is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Default

replaced the crank position sensor today and it's running.

as for the intake gasket i haven't done it yet; i've heard about the lower plate issues but figured i'd see what it was about after i got inside. any poiniters before i start? and do you replace the entire plate or do you just replace the gaskets above and below?
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-31-2009, 09:11 PM
zman17's Avatar
zman17
zman17 is offline
Retired Moderator - RIP
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 18,729
Default

You replace the whole plate.If you don't, you"ll be sorry. Go to Hughes Engines.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
breeaad
2nd Gen Dakota
2
05-17-2016 03:22 AM
ggreekggod
Dodge Stratus
15
10-14-2015 11:25 AM
myotis
Dodge Neon
1
09-29-2015 02:28 PM
BryGuy
3rd Gen Ram Tech
1
09-16-2015 08:38 AM
tresvatos
2nd Gen Ram Tech
5
09-04-2015 08:11 PM

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:42 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: