2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

01 Ram, No bus, wont run HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2009, 12:28 PM
completelyscrewed
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation 01 Ram, No bus, wont run HELP!

2001 Dodge Ram 1500
Problem - I have been driving this truck for several months. One day i got in it and it turned over, but never ran. My step dad thought i didnt have enough gas in it and i swore to him i did, he put more gas in it; still nothing. We couldnt hear the fuel pump come on at all, so he though to himself, FUEL PUMP! Im helping him look at fuses and check the fuel pump relays and i get in the truck to try and start it again and i notice on the odometer its showing 'no bus' . He inturn orders a fuel pump and replaces it. Not to mention the fuel guage has always been a little screwed up, ive noticed that when tank is full it shows empty (not all the time, just occasionally). After replacing the fuel pump, it started up and ran for about 10 minutes then died. It wouldnt start again until we cleared the codes (disconnected the battery for several minutes). We are stumped! We googled a few things and read about checking all the wires; under the emergency brake pedel, at the pcm, something about ground wires. We are so confused. We bought the book and even think it may have something to do with the Automatic shutdown relay but dont even know where that is located. I have even been told by someone else that it could be a bus fuse? I asked what it done and they said it regulated fuel pressure? I dont know!!
---------------------------------------------
No Bus Code
Wont Run
Fuel Pump is getting Power
Checked Fuses (under hood and inside panel)
Replaced Fuel Pump/Filter
Checked all Wires (to our knowledge)

Please someone help me im tired of driving my moms grandma car!