blower motor not working all speeds? - DodgeForum.com

Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Reload this Page > blower motor not working all speeds?
Notices
2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

blower motor not working all speeds?

Reply

 
 
  #1  
Old 02-17-2010, 06:26 PM
jmhai's Avatar
jmhai
jmhai is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Arden N.C.
Posts: 273
Default blower motor not working all speeds?

I have searched and think I have the answer but will give up the facts here and see what people think.. My AC/Heat blower motor will only work in high speed for AC (no med (2) or low),,, High and med/high for heat (no med/low or low). With the blower motor resistor unplugged I get only high for both..

I replaced the resistor but no change.

If the blower motor relay was bad the fan would not work at all right..?

So I am thinking I have a bad switch.. When in high speed heat I can wiggle the **** and make it switch between med/high and high speed or even cut off..

Just want your opinion on what else it maybe or just confirm that it is a bad switch from people that may of had the same problem...? thanks for the help guys
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2010, 06:37 PM
yakkier
yakkier is offline
Banned
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Burnsville, mn - Pensacola, fl
Posts: 3,667
Default

Switch
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2010, 06:45 PM
jmhai's Avatar
jmhai
jmhai is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Arden N.C.
Posts: 273
Default

Also where would I find one if not used or the stealer....
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2010, 06:57 PM
iwhitne
iwhitne is offline
Record Breaker
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: The Buckeye State... OHIO
Posts: 1,668
Default

The only place to find a switch would be the junk yard or dealer.. I've searched because I thought mine was bad as well.. turns out my blower motor was bad and kept screwing up the resistor.. so I replaced the blower motor and resisiter... not saying it will fix your problem.. but I'm just letting you know it could be hard to find the switch
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-17-2010, 06:58 PM
yakkier
yakkier is offline
Banned
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Burnsville, mn - Pensacola, fl
Posts: 3,667
Default

jcwhitney.com i think has them or you can search ebay.com
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-18-2010, 10:43 PM
jmhai's Avatar
jmhai
jmhai is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Arden N.C.
Posts: 273
Default

Picked up a used unit (40 dollars) from the local recyclers and half hour later everythings working like it should..
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
bombera77
Dodge Caravan
1
07-09-2015 01:03 PM
mp2000
Dodge Caravan
0
07-07-2015 01:25 AM
kassie78
Dodge Caravan
0
07-06-2015 10:23 PM
ydde1937
Dodge Caravan
0
07-06-2015 09:00 PM
janicedauw
Dodge Caravan
1
07-04-2015 07:12 PM

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:36 AM.