2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Bodywork for beginner???

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2010, 08:19 AM
JediSky671
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bodywork for beginner???

Hey guys I was wondering if you could tell me how to fix these body problems.I have some rust and would like to get rid of it.I have never done any body work and wold like to try it out.The truck was given to me by my dad and I am 18.I want to learn a bunch of stuff.Here are some pics of the damage.

Name:  Damage4.jpg
Views: 54
Size:  34.6 KB
Name:  Damage2-1.jpg
Views: 43
Size:  52.8 KB
Name:  Damage1.jpg
Views: 51
Size:  49.1 KB
Name:  Damage3.jpg
Views: 37
Size:  33.9 KB
Name:  Damage5.jpg
Views: 45
Size:  33.4 KB

Old 04-19-2010, 10:48 AM
dodgeboy1979
All Star

K im no expert by any means on body work but here is my 2 cents. for your surface rust and scratches you can just hand sand them down to bare metal or use a little pneumatic sander and it will buff them out, prime and paint. For the rust holes there is only one real proper way you have to remove the rust and get back to bare metal, probaly using a cutoff wheel on a die grinder or dremel so you can cut precise. Then you take a piece of sheel metal and cut it to fit the hole you made. Tack weld it in place and lighly hammer it to the shape you need. then weld it right up and grid it smooth. For your dents and such on your rear end you would have to pry panels out so they match the original body line, use pieces of wood or bars to get it back in the original spots then a hammer and a block of wood to get the smaller dents out. Use bondo to fill small holes or scratches sand and prime/paint.
Jake

Old 04-19-2010, 01:36 PM
CPTAFW163
Champion
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts