2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

5.9 ram 2500 4x4 motor swap, need your input and advice, please

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2010, 09:38 PM
elite1msmith
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5.9 ram 2500 4x4 motor swap, need your input and advice, please

hello

i have never done a motor swap before,

ram 2500 4x4 currently a 5.9 that runs with some issues, and 110 k on it. i have a much better 5.9 on a junk truck that seems to run better, with alot of power

So i crawled under it, removed the starter, removed the lower bolts that connect the motor to the bell housing,...removed the two upper side bolts on each side. is there a center top bolt by the distributer?

also i have nver seperated an auto trans before, how does that work , does the tourque converter bolt to the fly wheel? and comes off with the motor?

as i understand it, my steps would be , discounnect the exhast, disconnect electrial wiring, remove air filter housing, remove houses, remove fan shroud, remove hood, chain it up (is there a hook point on the motor?) tourch the mount bolts and up in comes?

anything im missing? any advice for installing the new (used motor with 150 k on it)

note i only need this truck to run for 8 more months then its for sale. so i would like to do this cheaply

Old 06-16-2010, 09:46 PM
1998ram5.9
Veteran

i would say check ur plenum gasket before putting the different engine in. That stupid gasket can cause spark knock, loss of power and oil consumption. It might feel like your engine is junk when ur plenum gasket goes.Also with only 110,000 on it, it should have alot of like left. Mines at 250,000 and still going very strong!

Old 06-16-2010, 09:51 PM
elite1msmith
Rookie

Originally Posted by 1998ram5.9