2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

99 ram 2500 strange problem!

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2010, 10:16 AM
nitrohogg
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 99 ram 2500 strange problem!

hello everyone! new guy here, been looking through some threads trying to find a problem the even remotely resembles mine! first off, I'm a mechanic and have years of experience under my belt.....a friend picked up a 99 ram2500 4X4 plow truck with the 5.9, 50,000 miles.....picked it up, it was running but lacked power, didn't really want to go over 40 mph, he did a tune up and then it sat for a day, wouldn't fire, sounded like fuel, did a fuel pressure test and the pressure was low, new fuel pump installed got 50 psi now, still wont start, new camshaft sensor, three different crank sensors, still no go, the old one had the most magnetic force, at least 3 times more than the duralast and even the BWD one, the flywheel looks fine, swaped out throttle body and all the sensors and injectors with a running vehicle, swapped the computer into a durango, it ran fine, checked the fuel, very flammable!!, checked the compression, perfect in all cylinders, checked the injector pulses, all good! brought it up to #1 tdc, check the distributor and firing order, right where it needs to be. all is firing! pulled all the plugs and had a buddy crank it with all the plugs grounded, every one it firing a good spark!! why with everything, spark, fuel and compression will this thing not run?!?!?, it sounds like it wants to fire on the first pop but then nothing! ya floor it and it pops a little and sounds like no gas...ya know that sound!! BWAAaaaaa......maybe someone here has a clue?!?!.......been messing with it for a few days now!! any help would be most appreciated!!!!!

Old 06-29-2010, 10:41 AM
Fifthwheelin