2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

need some help

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2010 | 02:21 PM
The beast is reborn
|
Rookie
Default need some help

truck been sitting for 8yrs, finally got it running with a few problems.
1. ABS and parking light always lit-new lines, new hardware at the wheels, new MC
Possible rear diff speed sensor? What else could cause this?
2. tranny doesn't feel like it's in 1st when you manually shift it to 1st,
I'm by no means an excellent mechanic, the truck doesn't seem to rev out like it should(I just starting running it so I'm trying to take it easy)When it's in D, I had it up to 50-60 km/h, and the tranny feels like it shifted at 25 or so.
Is this normal or what? What is limp mode and does my truck have it? 95 ram 1500 5.9 4x4 auto trans 46RH

Could the abs light affect the computer to trans operation? Or I am thinking like a new truck?

Old 10-21-2010 | 02:39 PM
HeyYou
Administrator

95 has the 46RH. Computer only controls TCC engagement, nothing to do with shifting. Since the truck sat for eight years.... I am guessing the the fluid has broken down, and probably left sticky deposits here and there, that interfere with proper operation. Probably, the best thing you can do, is just drive it gently for a while, let things get up to temp, and hope they work themselves out.

Does the speedometer work correctly? If Yes... probably speed sensor in rear diff.

Old 10-21-2010 | 03:50 PM
The beast is reborn
|
Rookie

Anyway to test the rear sensor?

Old 10-21-2010 | 05:04 PM
zman17
Retired Moderator - RIP