2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Problem with front axle connection

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2010, 06:55 PM
wetails2
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Problem with front axle connection

Hi, I am a noob at trucks, always wanted one finally got one. I have been fixing up my 1995 Ram 1500 with a 6" lift. My newest problem is one of the bars that connects the axle to the body broke and I don't know what the name of it is so that I can replace it. Can someone tell me what it is?
There are 4 bars, 2 on each side. The top of the bar is the same as the bottom, with bolts holding them in position on both sides of the bar on both heads. When connected they make kind of like a v to the frame. One of my bars broke at the head and now I am afraid to drive the truck until it gets fixed in fear of my axle breaking off.
Any help is appreciated, thanks.

Attached Thumbnails Problem with front axle connection-dsc00249.jpg  
Old 10-28-2010, 09:23 PM
seabass202
Veteran
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

welcome to Dodge Forum!... That would be your lower control arm. it is aftermarket, probably came with the lift kit that is on your truck. I would go to topguncustomz.com. They custom make those control arms depending on how many inches your lift kit requires. unless you are at 3" or less you could go back to the stock control arms from a junkyard. and I would replace all four just based on the fact I haven't seen one of those break before. there might be some quality issues with the ones you have there.

Old 10-29-2010, 03:07 PM
wetails2
Default Thank you