2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Lost on my headlights.... please help

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2011, 08:41 PM
MLJ
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lost on my headlights.... please help

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting on this site.. I did browse the site and didn't find anything like im looking for, but I may have missed something. If so im sorry...

here is the problem, I just got a 99 ram 1500 sport with the 5.9L v8...

The lights are funky and im not sure what the problem is....

I can turn on the low beam and get nothing, but if I turn on the high beams
I get both lights on (all four) at the same time...

the driving lights work... it looks like the switch was just replaced because I found the old one under the back seat....

So for the time being I have unplugged the high beams thus making my low beams work, the high beam light is on on the dash when they should be...

im kinda lost here so any help would be greatfull

Old 02-17-2011, 10:37 PM
OhioChuck
Rookie

Our 1999 2500 4X4 did the same thing two different times and it was 2 different problems. First time it was the relay for the FOG lights (not headlights) that was causing the low beam headlights not to work. New relay fixed the problem, for a while. Next time I found a wire had pulled out of the connector on the multifunction switch (turn signals, high beams, wiper, etc). I added a short length of wire and soldered it onto the connector, which solved that problem. We have since traded it in but it was working fine when traded in last summer.

Chuck

Old 02-18-2011, 12:03 AM
MLJ

when it was the relay for the fog lights did the low beams work at all?

I looked over the mulitfunction switch and didnt see anything out of ordinary..

is there a way to test the relay?