2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Problem: Coolant smell from engine but no smoke or water in oil (see pics)

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2011, 11:54 PM
elektromaniak
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Problem: Coolant smell from engine but no smoke or water in oil (see pics)

Hi guys,

great forum and community! I got my first dodge (99 Ram 1500 2wd 5.2L V8) last week and it wasn't in perfect shape and required some work. I just changed the rear speed sensor (followed everyone's advices) and it fixed my speedo and the ABS and brake light.

I am not a mechanic, I work in video games. However I am familiar with tuning, I also have a 300zx turbo in original like conditions.

My next Ram issue is a coolant smell from under the hood. Immediately I suspected a head gasket. But I then investigated further:
  • No water in oil (not milky or clear)
  • No oil in coolant tank
  • No white smoke when pressing the gas
  • Tested to turn on the heat inside at max to see if it would be related to the heater, but there is not any coolant smell from inside.
  • No drops on the ground
I went through every single thread regarding coolant smell issues and the plenum problems. I first thought it was the head gasket, but it may look more like a coolant loss or plenum problem.

I took several pics of the engine today, it seems to be wet in a few spots. I thought maybe those are clues to a plenum problem? Please take a look and would really appreciate your advices:

Here is a shot from the passenger of the engine. The valve cover seems leaking?

Close up of the valve cover leak.

Passenger side of engine

Where I stand here and get close, this is when I get the strongest coolant smell.

I noticed a host from the rad seems a little wet.