2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

First truck...what should I look for

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2005, 12:57 AM
Avid
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First truck...what should I look for

Well, I've reached the point where I need to ditch my Jeep for a truck.

I'd like to spend maybe $7-10k and get something decent. It will be a daily driver for a while, until I can afford a car - then it'll be winter/truck duty.

I have a feeling I'm looking around a 97-98. I know they changed the interior a bit in 98. Here's the options I'm looking for...

Standard Cab
Long bed prefered
318 or 360 (preferences, problems, etc?)
Stick or Auto (Is it the 46re? Problems)?

What do you guys recommend? Anything to look out for?
What do you consider high/problematic mileage?

Now I'm a newbie all over again. Thanks guys

Old 07-19-2005, 02:04 AM
moparman81777
Professional
Default RE: First truck...what should I look for

Well the choices are pretty simple you can have a dakota with a v6 for fuel mileage since it will be a daily driver or if you need something bigger the 1500 is nice but for some reason I never had good mileage with a 318 did better with a 360 just make sure the tranny is strong they seem to go fairly easy when people dont know how to use the OD button hope this helps

Old 07-19-2005, 11:24 AM
Avid

ORIGINAL: moparman81777

Well the choices are pretty simple you can have a dakota with a v6 for fuel mileage since it will be a daily driver or if you need something bigger the 1500 is nice but for some reason I never had good mileage with a 318 did better with a 360 just make sure the tranny is strong they seem to go fairly easy when people dont know how to use the OD button hope this helps
Moparman - thanks for the reply and the pm.