2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

How do you burp cooling system?

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2011, 10:28 PM
FreeDodge
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do you burp cooling system?

Hey guys,

So this stupid radiator flush has been taking me all afternoon/night. Now it is dark and I am working by flash light and I want to get my coolant in and everything working ready so I can shower and go to bed before work.

I was finishing flushing out my system when I noticed while my truck was running both radiator hoses were collapsed flat. I have searched multiple threads and see the advice to "burp" the system but I guess I don't know how to do that.

Can't find it in my Haynes or FSM. I am sorry I am a total noob.

I bought and put on new hoses and radiator cap today.

Old 09-28-2011, 10:31 PM
TheycallmeLaramie
Veteran

Jack up the front end, open radiator cap, turn truck on heat full blast, let it run and add coolant when the tank lowers. I also squeeze my two radiator hoses a bit while im doing this to make sure I can hear any air. Im sure HeyYou or Zman will tell ya something better, but this works for me.

Old 09-28-2011, 10:32 PM
rumble_truck
Veteran

I solved this problem on mine, 1/32nd drillbit and drill a hole on the little skirt/rim of the tstat. After that, no problems.

Old 09-28-2011, 10:39 PM
FreeDodge

So you're running the truck with the radiator cap off or just open? Then you fill the reservoir when it goes down? Is this still while the truck is running the the cap open?

Old 09-28-2011, 10:48 PM
TheycallmeLaramie
Veteran