truck wont go in 4 wheel drive? - DodgeForum.com

Go Back  DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Reload this Page > truck wont go in 4 wheel drive?
Notices
2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

truck wont go in 4 wheel drive?

Reply

 
 
  #1  
Old 03-14-2012, 11:22 AM
Exclamation truck wont go in 4 wheel drive?

Wont go into 4 wheel anymore? The tranny and 4 wheel drive was rebuilt just over the summer professionally so it can't be out. Sometimes it will go in and sometimes it wont. You can hear it trying to go in 4wd underneath. Almost got stuck in the mud yesterday because of it. Ive heard that it may be transfer case fluid? But not sure. Please help
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2012, 11:44 AM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 43,399
Default

Is the 4x4 light not coming on? Probably a vacuum issue with the CAD system.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-14-2012, 01:09 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 43,399
Default

Highly likely. The switch that turns on that light on is toward the drivers side of the cad housing. If the vacuum actuator doesn't move far enough, for whatever reason, it won't lock the passenger side front axle halves together, therefore, no light, and no 4wd. Verify you are getting vacuum to the cad inboard port when the t-case is in 4wd. (this is a REALLY common problem with these trucks.)
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-14-2012, 10:09 PM
gdstock's Avatar
gdstock
gdstock is offline
Legend
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 8,259
Default

How much to fix? Depends on what's wrong with it. You got more time than money? It may be easy fix (hopefully).

Go to the FAQ/DIY section and download service manual. Most likely a vacuum line to the CAD is off, broken....leaking. CAD operates from vacuum. Someone else may be along to post pics. I could not find the thread in the DIY section. I know I have seen one here.
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-14-2012, 11:18 PM
gdstock's Avatar
gdstock
gdstock is offline
Legend
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 8,259
Default

Get the service manual first. It will be a big help. Free download. Can't beat it!!
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
dakotaff
Archived Classifieds
2
07-18-2015 08:44 AM
kenm78
New Member Area
3
07-08-2015 10:07 PM
kenm78
Diesel General Discussion
2
07-08-2015 09:51 PM
OptimalRhyme
2nd Gen Ram Tech
8
07-06-2015 10:06 AM
kenm78
4th Gen Ram Tech
1
07-05-2015 02:05 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:29 AM.