2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Tranny Problems?

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2012, 02:43 PM
TXSizedJeep
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tranny Problems?

I am fairly new to the Dodge world, though I spent several years under the hood of my jeep and know my way around pretty well. Up until the transmission that is.
Recently picked up a 98 1500 with the 360 5.9L with 148k miles. All around seemed to be in pretty good shape. After pulling a 5k lb trailer to our new house, it seemed pretty evident that I have a Plenum problem. I have not had a chance to get under the hood and tackle this yet which I know is part of the problem I am about to describe.

Anyhow, today i went to get on the highway and everything seemed normal, until I came up to a little bit of an incline and the truck slowly died down to a crawl the further up the hill I got. By the time I was to the top I was going about 40mph (down from about 65). That alone seemed a little odd. Then as I went to try and speed back up the truck didnt want to move. RPMs were up about as high as I've ever had them and the pedal was to the floor, but the truck was still just barely crawling.

I ended up getting off at the next exit and took gravel all the way home as I was having trouble getting any sort of speed built up.

So since I know just about NOTHING about transmissions, what I do know is there is a definite plenum issue and some sort of vacuum issue. The A/C blows nice and hard and cold when under normal load. On a hill or under throttle the air stops flowing. I dont know if the PCV has anything to do with that or if it might just be a leak somewhere.

What do you guys think? Where should I start? BTW I'm broke as a joke...so this just sucks!

Old 06-21-2012, 02:46 PM
HeyYou
Administrator