2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Front drivers axle leak

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2012, 12:05 PM
DamageUSMC
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Front drivers axle leak

I just got my first truck yesterday. I'm kind of an average person when it comes to working on vehicles (replace alternators, water pumps, install stereos), but I've never worked on a truck before so it's all new to me.

I traded my motorcycle for a 94 ram 5.9L. It has a ton of new parts under the hood including the transmission and engine within the last 30k. My only concern is where the axle ends on the left front, there is about a 4 inch recession that has what looks like an ongoing leak. Is this differential fluid? How do I fix the leak? I imagine there's a worn seal?

Any guidance on this would be appreciated. I'm planning on fixing it myself as long as no special tools are needed. How much of a project is this and whats the average cost.

Old 10-04-2012, 12:20 PM
zman17
Retired Moderator - RIP
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts

The seal is like 5 bucks, but you have to remove pretty much all the internal parts from the diff. Do yourself a favor and get a Haynes manual and got to the FAQ/DIY section and download the service manual . Read the process in both and see if you want to tackle the project. It's not that bad and you may need to buy some tools, but will still be cheaper than having a shop do it.

Old 10-04-2012, 12:37 PM
DamageUSMC

Here are some pictures.

zman, thanks, I have all the standard tools. Sockets in any size, torque wrench, I have air tools but no compressor . Are there tools outside of this type of stuff that I might need? Do you know what this seal is called? I don't want to go to Autozone and make myself look dumb for the 200th time.