2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

More fuel used in the cold?

Old 10-15-2013, 10:27 AM
Sandon
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default More fuel used in the cold?

I'm pretty new to owning a diesel and as winter is coming and some nights and mornings are very cold... I just wanted to know if my 2001 Dodge cummins uses more fuel when cold. It seems to be that way, and if it is a significant amount, what can I do to help improve my fuel economy in the winter time?

Old 10-15-2013, 11:05 AM
jkeaton
DF Admin
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 334 Likes on 298 Posts

Not much. You have a full size pickup (2500 no less) with a diesel engine. Fuel economy was tossed out the window with the purchase of that truck. I'm sure jigabop will contradict as he has the baddest truck of all, but "Ram 2500 diesel" and "fuel economy" should not be used in the same sentence.

Last edited by jkeaton; 10-15-2013 at 11:07 AM.
Old 10-15-2013, 11:57 AM
Ham Bone
Champion
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by jkeaton
Not much. You have a full size pickup (2500 no less) with a diesel engine. Fuel economy was tossed out the window with the purchase of that truck. I'm sure jigabop will contradict as he has the baddest truck of all, but "Ram 2500 diesel" and "fuel economy" should not be used in the same sentence.
he meant "Ram" and "fuel economy" shouldnt be used in the same sentence

Old 10-15-2013, 12:43 PM
jkeaton
DF Admin
Received 334 Likes on 298 Posts

^^yeah, that.....

Old 10-15-2013, 12:59 PM
dodge dude94
Banned Goober Smoocher
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I do believe a diesel is going to use more fuel when cold compared to a gasser as it takes longer to get heated up and working properly.

However the overall fuel savings and power increase out weighs that.

Old 10-15-2013, 01:40 PM