2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Loose Steering - Video attached

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2014, 01:25 PM
nkartes
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Loose Steering - Video attached

Hey there! First post here, so please be gentle. =) I'm the proud owner of a 1999 Dodge Ram 2500 and as you can imagine, I have horribly loose steering. Shocker, I know. I've spent the past two weeks reading tons of others' posts about this. I decided to crawl underneath my truck last night as I had my wife turn my wheel left/right so that I could rely on knowledgeable people to try and help me out.

I'll start by saying I'm a total amateur when it comes to most car related things - I don't deny that. I'm learning as I go, which is why I'm not afraid to take this task on myself and learn things I tear into the truck.

That being said, my truck simply has very loose steering, making it hard to keep centered in the lane. I do not experience "death wobble". While I haven't had the chance to jack the front tires up to test the tie rod ends that way, I can grab either my drag link or tie rod and wiggle them (kinda rotates up/down) pretty good. Way more than I'd suspect they should. I want to believe that the tie rod ends need replaced, but can someone please take a look at the video and give me some guidance. Any help is more than appreciated. Thanks!

Old 03-12-2014, 01:46 PM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,197 Likes on 2,949 Posts

Rotational movement is interesting...... but, not sure you are going to be able to avoid that, given the geometry of the steering. Side to side movement indicates that the joint is indeed bad.