2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

plenum or catalytic converter

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2014, 07:39 AM
jayz55
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default plenum or catalytic converter

Hi, im new to the DF. I have a 2nd gen 99 ram 1500 with a 5.2. Im down a quart of oil about every 5-7 days. The p0420 code, first bank is on. Theres no apparent oil leaks other then a lil drip from the oil pan gasket. Whenever I come to a hill, especially in a higher gear, my motor sounds like a can of spray paint being shaken up. The motor has high mileage on original motor (212,000). I dont know if I should start by replacing the plenum gasket or catalytic converter. Please help, any advice is GREATLY APPRECIATED...

Old 04-02-2014, 08:20 AM
CSDavies26
Veteran
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You should start by replacing BOTH along with the front O2 sensor which is now toast as well. If money is a problem, replace the plenum gasket with the aluminum plate version and cut out the catalytic converter and put a piece of pipe in its place until you can afford to replace the cat too. It's also probably time for a good tune-up since a horribly blown plenum will start fowling plugs. Looks like it's time to put some pretty serious time and repair money into this truck if you plan on keeping it...

Old 04-02-2014, 08:20 AM
1997JollyGreenGiant
Record Breaker
Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts