2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Ignition timing? truck keeps stalling

Old 09-16-2014, 08:03 PM
redman75
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ignition timing? truck keeps stalling

1995 Ram 1500. Just rebuilt the 5.2l and finally started it up for the first time a day ago. It runs good and doesnt have any clunking noise or any serious internal issues (SO FAR). I am having a couple problems though and I'm not quite sure what to do.

1.I have tried to set the ignition timing. This is my first time so I'm not a hundred percent. Because I have the higher lift cam a mechanic told me to make retard it to 5 before TDC. I have it in that area, but it is not consistant. The line (on harmonic balance or the dampener?) hits the same spot a few times but then skips around a bit in both direction (almost 5 notches in either direction). Is this a timing chain issue?

2. When the truck is running it seems to idle fine (just below 1000rpm). If I gradually go up to 2500rpm and gradually back off of the throttle it is also fine and hangs just under 1000rpm. However when I give a sudden spike and let off completely the rpms dip to only 250 but bounce back up to 750. When I took it for a little drive it would stall when I let off the throttle (more than 3 times). Is this an ignition timing problem? and if so what should i do to fix it.

Also I get a wiff of gasoline (maybe its running too thick?) when the truck is off and the exhaust has white smoke (I think its only condensation... doesn't have an oil or fuel smell or a tint to it). Thanks for the help guys.

Old 09-17-2014, 09:24 AM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,164 Likes on 2,918 Posts