2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

New truck, with issues

Old 07-04-2015, 09:01 PM
OptimalRhyme
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New truck, with issues

Good day to you all, My name is Dylan and I'm 25 years old from Wainwright Alberta, Canada. Im a mechanic for the army so i have a bunch of experience with vehicles as well as holding a journeyman ticket for automotive tech. I recently got a 2001 ram laramie slt. It has a 4 inch suspension lift and a 3 inch body lift and it has a few issues. It runs well and drives decently, however at some point or another someone changed the steering column and now i don't have the buttons for the cruise control even though the mechanical bits are still there. Second, the steering wheel has about three inches of play before the wheels really start to move. I've read that adjusting the steering box can sometimes cure this? Finally the shifter won't move enough to engage 1st or second gear. I have to put it into the 2nd spot to engage drive, not really sure how to fix this, I'm thinking maybe something to do with how the linkage was extended for the body lift?

sorry for the wall of text, any input would be greatly appreciated!

Old 07-05-2015, 10:51 AM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,168 Likes on 2,922 Posts

Think I would be tempted to find the correct steering column, and install it. Should solve all of your problems on that score.

You can try adjusting the steering box, but, they weren't the best when they were new, and sometimes, replacement is the only 'real' fix..... Don't bother with a reman from the parts store though, spend the money, get the redhead, or borgeson box.

Old 07-05-2015, 12:50 PM
Moparite
Grand Champion
Received 347 Likes on 327 Posts