Hanging idle - Page 2 - DodgeForum.com

Notices
2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Hanging idle

Reply

 
 
  #11  
Old 02-14-2017, 04:34 PM
Ham Bone's Avatar
Ham Bone
Ham Bone is offline
Champion
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Posts: 4,068
Default

SO did you ever figure anything out about this issue?
 
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-14-2017, 11:34 PM
frankie_b_jr's Avatar
frankie_b_jr
frankie_b_jr is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Nevada
Posts: 467
Default

Sorry to leave you hanging. The short answer is no. This has been partially due to bad weather on the weekends (why does it have to rain/snow/flood on my 3 days off each week?), And partially because I've been lazy.

I did pull the IAC hoping to spot something, but there were no apparent drag marks and everything is still shiney clean in there.
I had an OH SHHHI... moment a couple days after posting this that might offer some insight to someone. Someone pulled onto the highway In front of me while running about 70 mph (2300 rpms in 5th) and my trucking instincts kicked in. While on the brakes hard I jumped from 5th to 3rd for the compression braking. Rpms jumped to about 3800, not sure of ground speed at that point... I'll have to check that (pardon the large attention sp- oh look, shiney. Lol)
Once my nerves settled down I realized that the idle was behaving like it should. Smooth drop to 750 from anywhere in the rpm range, with any throttle position. This lasted for about an hour. Unfortunately I haven't been able to duplicate the results, so it might have just been a fluke. Only thing I can figure is the sudden high vacuum caused something to seat temporarily, but I'm still not sure what or where.
 
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-15-2017, 01:37 AM
barnett468
barnett468 is offline
Rookie
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 62
Default

check the butterfly shaft for wear by trying to wiggle it . start the engine and open the throttle then close it then try to force it closed even more by hand . it might also be a slight air leak . might also be the throttle position sensor.
 
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-15-2017, 08:12 PM
frankie_b_jr's Avatar
frankie_b_jr
frankie_b_jr is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Nevada
Posts: 467
Default

Originally Posted by barnett468 View Post
check the butterfly shaft for wear by trying to wiggle it . start the engine and open the throttle then close it then try to force it closed even more by hand . it might also be a slight air leak . might also be the throttle position sensor.
Didn't think of the shaft being worn because of being a fresh bored out one from HiPoTec, but it is possible.
The butterflies are closing like they should still.
I'm still leaning towards a vacuum leak, I just can't find it.
If you read the first post, I've tried and tested 3 TPS's, all with the same result.

Good ideas none the less. Thank you.
 
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-18-2017, 05:47 PM
frankie_b_jr's Avatar
frankie_b_jr
frankie_b_jr is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Nevada
Posts: 467
Default

Back after this finally.
Watching the scanner when the throttle hangs, TPS is .76, throttle position is 0%, IAC count jumps to 60 (target and actual) when throttle closes then steps down to 20.

The couple times the throttle didn't hang the only change was IAC counts when the throttle closes. It only went to about 35, then steps down to 20.

This has me leaning towards a glitch in the pcm now, but I figured I would see what folks in here have to say.
 
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-18-2017, 05:49 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 43,511
Default

What is engine load doing while that is happening?
 
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-18-2017, 07:10 PM
frankie_b_jr's Avatar
frankie_b_jr
frankie_b_jr is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Nevada
Posts: 467
Default

Originally Posted by HeyYou View Post
What is engine load doing while that is happening?
5-7%, same as idle.
 
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-18-2017, 07:37 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 43,511
Default

well that's just weird. And the PCM actually WANTS IAC there? What does it say about Target Idle?
 
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-18-2017, 08:01 PM
frankie_b_jr's Avatar
frankie_b_jr
frankie_b_jr is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Nevada
Posts: 467
Default

Target idle showed 752.
 
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-18-2017, 09:28 PM
HeyYou's Avatar
HeyYou
HeyYou is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clayton MI
Posts: 43,511
Default

Was that where it was at?

I wonder if the PCM is a tad confused.....
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
HeyItMeSam
2nd Gen Ram Tech
4
03-08-2017 01:04 PM

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:32 AM.