2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Transmissions

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2021, 09:21 AM
Jacob Wenstrup
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Transmissions

Hello, I have a 1999 ram 1500, it has the 5.2 magnum and the 46re transmission in it. I bought the truck with a rebuilt transmission. Not long after I bought it, it blew cooler lines to the transmission. While replacing them, I cracked the housing where the fitting goes in. I pulled a transmission from my local junk yard but it didn’t work, however the case is good. I’m not experienced in automatic transmissions and I do not have the money to pay to have it rebuilt nor the money to buy a reman. I was considering swapping a manual into it, I’ve rebuilt several manuals and I know how they work. What transmission do I need, what ECM would I need or would I have to replace the one in the truck, how hard would it be, should I just try and rebuild the automatic myself? Thanks in advance for any help.

Old 04-07-2021, 09:50 AM
MoparFanatic21
Legend
Received 307 Likes on 299 Posts

Originally Posted by Jacob Wenstrup