2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

tranny cooler question

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2005, 08:43 PM
medstudent
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default tranny cooler question

Sorry if this should be in tech, but I have done lots of searching and have not found my answer? Anyway, I have never had an automatic before so I have no prior experience with coolers. So can you install one without flushing the fluid? would you ant to flush the fluid? Can it be done in a garage using basic tools? I understand how to install the cooler but where does it connect to the tranny? Do any kits come complete or do you always have to run to the local parts store for adapters? Thanks for any help

Old 12-31-2005, 10:08 PM
magnum mike
Rookie
Default RE: tranny cooler question

you should have a factory cooler already on your truck, but adding one is easy. just dont bypass the factory cooler because in the winter it help to also heat the fluid when its
cold out. you cant get rid of condinsation if it never warms up.

Old 12-31-2005, 11:15 PM
medstudent

Where would the factory cooler be located? I feel stupid, but I do not see one. So do I just hook the new tranny cooler in line with the old cooler? What if there is no stock tranny cooler?

Old 12-31-2005, 11:21 PM
steve05ram360
Hall Of Fame
Received 235 Likes on 218 Posts

the stock cooler is mounted in the radiator. on the passengerside of the rad, look for 2 lines connected to it that go back to the tranny. you'll connect into these lines. I think the top one is the input & the bottom is the output. not 100% sure on that one. I'd ditch the radiator cooler and just go with the biggest external you can get. dodge tranny's dont like heat. especially in the OD area so the cooler it runs, the longer it'll live.

Old 01-01-2006, 12:10 AM