2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Check Engine Light - Poor gas mileage

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2022, 05:52 PM
Paul12
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Check Engine Light - Poor gas mileage

Hello everybody!

This is my first post so I think I should introduce myself. I'm Paul and I'm from Germany (so sorry if my english is not the very best). I'm a horse trainer and I own a 99 Dodge Ram 5.9 4x4. It's my daily driver and my work truck.
It's a nice car but there are some things to fix and now we've got some issues. I was dealing with a check engine light. There were some codes.
P0201
P0203
P0204
P0141
P0161
P0158

We changed all 4 O2 sensors. I already bought new injectors as well but I doubt that this will be the solution. Sadly after replacing the O2 Sensors the Check Engine light went on again. I reseted the PCM now. After 15 miles there is still NO check engine light. But after some miles the truck started to run very poorly....every time I hit the gas it seems like the truck is stalling. So I need a lot more gas than usual to drive. I never had problems like this before?!
The main reason why we started to work on the car is because of the poor gas mileage.(Around 9,5 mpg on gas and because the gas prices in Germany are extremly high (2€ / litre that should be around 2$ per 0,26 gallone....) the truck has a lpg installation...if you drive LPG you'll be at around 8,11mpg.) With all the codes and the mileage problem a problem with the o2 sensors seemed to be logical to me.

But the problem still remains and we haven't got any idea. Maybe there is an electrical problem? Do you guys have any idea? Hard to find someone in Germany who is used to dodge rams.

Thank you very much and sorry for my english again.

Old 08-04-2022, 06:54 PM
DerTruck
All Star