2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Valve Ping

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2006, 12:04 PM
eslock
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Valve Ping

now that i have the money for tires, of course something problematic needs to come up. ive got a valve ping in the 5.2 and its seems to be getting louder and more consistent. it is at its loudest in overdrive cruisin at about 1100 - 1300rpm at about 45 mph. it gets really bad if i go up a hill or something and it doesnt down shift. im runnin 87 octane and i shouldnt need to go any higher, all shes got is an air filter and exhaust. before i drop it off somewhere and drop a buck or two on it what to yall think, possibly something i can fix. ive got a pretty good idea on everything but i am by no means an expert. still learning and doing everything i can myself. the highschool budget is quite low so if i can keep her out of the shop i will.

preciate the help
- eric

Old 03-17-2006, 12:41 PM
Chopper1
All Star
Default RE: Valve Ping

Talked to a guy that turned me on to this site, and he changed his rocker arms. He said the factory ones had serious variation in their ratio. Not sure that this could be the problem, but he changed his to the early Viper R/T versions with I think he said a 1.6 ratio. Less than a hunded bucks. He said it was one of the best improvements he made to his engine prior to the supercharger. Like a cam change by pulling the valve covers.

Old 03-17-2006, 12:48 PM
eslock

ill look into it

Old 03-19-2006, 02:54 AM
MikeNAmyS
Professional

Try going to 89 octane.
Pinging usually results because of the timing being advanced.A streched timing chain can cause this.
You may want to invest in a tune-up, if you have not already tried it. Burnt or corroded plugs can also cause a ping.

Old 03-19-2006, 03:43 AM