2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Looking for Flex

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2006, 07:53 AM
guardrail
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking for Flex

Ok,
I just bought an '01 Ram 1500 QC with the Off Road Package and a 3" coil spacer in front to level the truck and support the push bar and winch that are on it. I am looking to increase the overall flexability of the suspension and was thinking of getting sway bar disconnects and flipping the overload spring in the rear. I was just wondering where I can get sway bar disconnects for it and if flipping the overload will do me any good. I crawled under the truck and noticed that the overload spring is actually pretty close to flat so how much would it help to flip it. Any info and input is welcome as I am new to Rams, but not new to off roading.
Thanks in advance,
Bri.

Old 04-04-2006, 11:41 AM
GOD RAM IT
Record Breaker
Default RE: Looking for Flex

just get rid of the sway bar, you wont notice it too much without it. Also the rear will have no problem flexing I wouldnt even touch that.

I would also get aet of 3" springs instead of the coil spacers, that will allow you more flex as well. I would also double check to see if the guy before you put longer shocks in, if he didnt than the shocks will bottom out before you extend to full flex.

there isnt a quick disconnect made for our trucks, you'll have to buy some for a Jeep and make them fit.

also if you really want flex get some 5" coils and a AAL for the rear and get a long arm setup.
I have one for sale if you're interested. I decided to go another route because I may have to return my truck to stock this summer

Old 04-04-2006, 02:07 PM
guardrail

ORIGINAL: GOD RAM IT