2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

need some opinions

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2007 | 12:19 AM
dishdude2k
|
Captain
Default need some opinions

ok. .. i have ordered the plenum and picked up the water pump... thermostat.. distributer and all the other gaskets.. the kit i got for the plenum is just the intake gasket itself (upper) i DID NOT pick up the lower gasket.. hope i dont need it.. oh yea.. got the new bolts too.. now.. i will replace all this on saturday.. hope all goes well wish me luck.. but after all this is done.. i am thinking on putting a wheel lift on the truck.. i reposess cars for a living.. with all the newer cars and trucks out there.. getting a key made is next to impossible.. or i can pick up a wrecker.. but then that blows my element of surprise.. what i have is a 99 ram 1500 5.9 2wheel drive. I am almost 100% positive that i am going to need to reinforce the frame some to acomodate the weight of the other vehicle behind me.. what would be the best way to reinforce the frame.. and where exactly should i do it at? any ideas?

also.. if theres anything im not thinking of by adding this lift that i should do.. please let me know

Old 01-26-2007 | 01:02 AM
timwag2001
All Star
Default RE: need some opinions

you shouldve got a plenum kit. have you done a search on the plenum? there has to be a billion threads on it. thats because a billion trucks have plenum problems. its common. if you dont make it stronger you'll have the problem again. think about all the time youre gonna waste. by the lower gasket do you mean the gaskets that seal off the front and back of the lifter valley? if so than yes you'll need them.

Old 01-26-2007 | 01:51 AM
dishdude2k
|
Captain