3rd Gen Dakota 2005 - 2011 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 3rd Gen Dakota.

Computer Help

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2007, 01:59 PM
Night_Runner
Champion
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Computer Help

before u read this, know i am typing from the computer lab, not my laptop

I know a lot of u are good with computers. Id like to say I am good with one, but i am by no means a computer engineer. I have up to date anti-virus and spyware protection. i turned on my comp today and my keyboard wasnt working....i ran a diognistics test (the one that is under system tools) and found out that my cd/dvd drive and floppy drive were not working either, they failed the test. i tried to put a floppy in, sure enough, the computer didnt read it automatically, so i opened my computer and saw nowhere to click-start my floppy drive...did the same with a dvd....it is as if those drives have been erased from my computer! WTF?! i have not used my floppy in forever, but i used my dvd/cd drive and obviousely keyboard right before i went to sleep.

if it helps, i have an almost 1 yr old toshiba satellite. off the top of my head, i dont remember what version.

Old 04-25-2007, 02:07 PM
mb18
Record Breaker
Default RE: Computer Help

If you've rebooted a bunch of times, and still no improvement, I'd think it's one of two problems. There's an outside chance it's a virus or spyware deal that slipped by your antivirus. Depending on what you use, some are more reliable than others and may miss some threats. It also could be a motherboard problem, but seems a bit random for that...but who knows.

If it's a year old, is it still under warranty?

Old 04-25-2007, 02:24 PM
Night_Runner
Champion