3rd Gen Dakota 2005 - 2011 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 3rd Gen Dakota.

Further investigating valve tick on startup..

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2008, 10:48 AM
MonkeyWrench4000
Record Breaker
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Further investigating valve tick on startup..

You know how we have been discussing valve tick for the first 30 seconds of start up?

I know someone on the forum recently posted they had there valves adjusted and it corrected the issue, and others just deal with there gas engine sounding like the diesel at startup.

Well I had mine looked at by a buddy of mine at work. He's very inclined. He's resoring a 1947 Dodge Power Wagon pickup, ww2 production.

But anyway, I had him listen to the tick during start up, and he seems to think that since this noise goes away within 30 seconds of driving, that it could be considered normal. Somthing about the clearance for the first 30 seconds, im no mechanic. He didnt think it was really too much of a concern, or worth working on.

So today it is pouring outside, and around 45 degrees. I start the engine up for the first time this morning, and no tick...its quiet and perfect.

Huh? This never happens...What could the cold and the wet have to do with the tick? Oil is thicker possibly since its colder, but i feel like during the dead of winter this baby ticks for the first 30 seconds. Maybe the rain?

Either way, anyone have an opinion?

Old 09-26-2008, 12:48 PM
x99j
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

mine does it to. (diesel sound at start up) but it only happens in the summer? when it is -10 below the motor won't do it? i am not worried about it because mine has done it from day one brand new. also my oil samples looked at by blackstones labs have all come back normal! mike

p.s. to me it sounds like piston slap?

Old 09-26-2008, 12:58 PM
MonkeyWrench4000
Record Breaker